Dining With Rendang

RENDANG

RENDANG
© 2012 Liza W. Widjaja

Rendang is Beef Cooked in spicy sauce.  I missed my mom’s Rendang. I still remember when I was little my mom used to cook this dish often.

I used to stand next to her watching her cooked this dish and I smelled the aroma of all the spices. Now I’m happy that my son like to eat this dish even though sometime it’s a bit too spicy for him.

Rendang is spicy meat dish that originated from Padang or Minangkabau, west Sumatra island. That’s the place my mom originated. Nowadays you can find this dish across the country.

RENDANG

RENDANG
© 2012 Liza W. Widjaja

Rendang is rich in spices. The authentic Padang Rendang took hours to cook, that is why cooking Rendang is time-consuming and requires patience.

The meat cooked slowly in coconut milk & spices in perfect heat untill all the liquid is gone. The slow cooking process allow the meat to absorb all the spices and become tenders. The meat should be slowly & carefully stirred & turned until all the liquid evaporated.  This process is known as caramelizing, not in sugar but in coconut milk instead.

I remember I used to help my mom stirred the dish while she prepared other stuff and she always reminded me to do it slowly & make sure that the coconut milk mix well together. If you cooked properly dried Rendang can last for up to three or four weeks inside refrigerator.

Leave a Reply

