SNAPSHOT FROM THE TRIP-JAKARTA 2015

Here are some pictures from my 2015 trip to Jakarta.

As you know from my other post I like to visit the local morning market. So here are the pictures from the visit. The market is recently open, it’s bigger than my old morning market.

Mind you some of the pictures may be strange to you specially at the meat & seafood section. This is a traditional morning market so lots of produce and meat sold fresh with out packaging until you purchase it. At the meat section you can see the meat hang at the metal hooks. It is common for the customer to touch the meat and let the butcher know how much you want.

At the fish or seafood section the fresh seafood sell at the open counter. Early in the morning they still have so many different types of fish, also shrimps and squids.

When I was little I used to company my mom to the traditional morning market but less modern than this one. It was dark, so many people and smelly. I remembered we bought the fish or chicken fresh. I watched how they cleaned and prepared it. They did it so quickly, I think they done it many times, it just a part of their job.

I have a good time going to the market with mom, as you can see until now I still enjoying it. The last time I went to the morning  market I took my daughter come with me. I think she had a good time as much as me when I used to company my mom.

PIK MARKET

SEAFOOD MARKET
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

 

PIK MARKET

SEAFOOD MARKET
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

PIK MARKET

MEAT AND VEGETABLE MARKET
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

2015-11-11 16.21.28

MORNING MARKET
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

 

Here are some pictures of the Indonesian food

KUE MANGKOK

KUE MANGKOK
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

KUE MANGKOK

KUE MANGKOK
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

KUE DUREN

KUE PANCAKE DURIAN
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

KUE BUGIS

KUE BUGIS
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

KUE BUGIS

KUE BUGIS
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

SALAK

SALAK
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

PAPAYAS

PAPAYAS
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

MANGGOES

MANGGOES
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

VEGETABLES

VEGETABLES
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

VEGETABLES

VEGETABLES
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

BEANCURDS

BEANCURDS
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

PLANTAINS

PLANTAINS
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

MEATBALLS

MEATBALLS
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

LITTLE FISH

DRIED LITTLE FISHES
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

PALM SUGAR

PALM SUGAR
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

LOCAL CHOCOLATES

INDONESIAN CHOCOLATES
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

KRUPUKS

KRUPUKS
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

2015-11-11 15.54.56

NASI CAMPUR((STEAM RICE WITH FRIED CHICKEN, FRIED FISH & CORN CAKE)
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

 

2015-11-11 15.55.43

NASI CAMPUR (STEAM RICE WITH VEGETABLES)
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

Different types of Javanese dishes on top of local traditional pot warmer.

2015-11-20 19.08.53

JAVANESE DISHES
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

 

2015-11-20 19.09.35

JAVANESE DISHES
© 2015 Liza W. Widjaja

 

Leave a Reply

