PASTEL GORENG

Pastel Goreng is an Indonesian fried pastry filled with meat & vegetable.

20150509_183943_resized

PASTEL GORENG (INDONESIAN FRIED PASTRY)
© 2016 Liza W. Widjaja

 

20150512_141509_resized

PASTEL GORENG WITH PEANUT CHILI SAUCE
© 2016 Liza W. Widjaja

 

I used to eat Pastel Goreng a lot when I was young. You can find Pastel in most of the cake store in Indonesia. This is my favorite snack. I used to stop by at this local cake store close to a shopping area called Pasar Baru and bought Pastel from them for lunch, snack, after work or anytime of the day.

It is similar to Empanadas has a crust like pie crust. The filling are chicken, carrots, potatoes, rice vermicelli and boiled eggs. you rolled the dough very thin to make the skin. You can change the filling to whatever you like best. Also you can make vegetarian fillings.

Few years ago I tried different type of Pastel, my mom bought it for me, they called it Pastel UFO, the shape looks like a UFO I guess that’s how it’s get the name. the skin has more layers and slightly more crispy then the regular pastry.

Pastel Goreng also becomes one of my son’s favorite snack from Indonesia. When he was in Jakarta about 5 years old Pastel the only snack that he like to eat over there, he company my dad to the morning market in the morning and often get Pastel Goreng, it was so fresh, they fried the Pastel in front of you while you waited. This day we still like Pastel Goreng and I made it regulary at home.

For Pastel (Indonesian Fried Pastry) recipe you could find it at my older posted.

20150509_181738_resized

PASTEL READY TO FRY
© 2016 Liza W. Widjaja

2016-01-12 09.05.06

PASTEL LAPIS ( PASTEL LAYERS) WITH PEANUT CHILI SAUCE
© 2016 Liza W. Widjaja

 

 

2016-01-12 16.36.32.jpg

PASTEL LAPIS / PASTEL LAYERS
© 2016 Liza W. Widjaja

20150512_141524_resized_1

PASTEL GORENG (INDONESIAN FRIED PASTRY)
© 2016 Liza W. Widjaja

 

 

Leave a Reply

