FISH JELLY

2016-02-07 23.04.26

FISH JELLY (IKAN AGAR AGAR )
© 2016 Liza W. Widjaja

Jelly or Agar Agar is a quick and popular snack. When I was little Agar Agar is one of the snack that I have regularly. Agar Agar is a quick and easy snack that you can prepare but taste good and refreshing. Recently I made it  for my Chinese Dinner dessert. I made it with fish  Koi molds.  Koi is an auspicious animal in Chinese traditional beliefs and also I like koi fish.

When I was little my parents used to have a small pond inside the house, the pond filled with many Koi fishes. I used to help her cleaned the pond, I think most of the time I did the talking than helping her and also playing with the fish.

2016-02-07 14.38.43

FISH JELLY (IKAN AGAR AGAR)
© 2016 Liza W. Widjaja

 

INGREDIENTS:

35 gr agar agar

2 liter water

200gr milk

180 gr sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla essence

a few drop red or orange food coloring

A koi jelly mold

DIRECTION:

In the pan put water, sugar and agar agar bring to boil .

Make sure the agar agar dissolved

Once it boils turn down the heat add the milk and let simmer for about 2 or 3 minutes.

Keep the agar agar warm in the pot by turning the heat as low as you can.

In a small bowl put some red food colouring and add 2 or 3 tablespoon hot agar agar to a bowl, stir and mix well.

scope the red agar agar and use a syringe. if you don’t have a syringe you can use a straw to transfer the red agar agar.

Put the red agar agar  patches at the Koi mold in  the design that you like.

Once it hardens put one table spoon of the white agar agar agar on top of the red patches.

Do the same for all the other molds. Once done put another one tablespoon agar agar on the first mold. The main purpose of this so the red agar agar does not dissolved with the white agar agar. If you fill up at once  the hot white agar agar will dissolve with the red agar agar.

Do the same procedures until all the molds filled up.

Chill in the refrigerator. Once firmed used a corner of the back of small spoon or tooth pick to the side to dislodge of the agar agar. Keep it in the refrigerator.

At the bottom you will see the fish jelly that I made without milk  and I use chopped cranberries as the eyes.

I hope you like my Blog

Please do follow me on my Blog and you can follow me at instagram at “ittaeatsandarts”

 

2016-02-07 23.03.01

FISH JELLY (IKAN AGAR AGAR)
© 2016 Liza W. Widjaja

 

 

 

 

 

2016-02-07 23.04.55

FISH JELLY (IKAN AGAR AGAR)
© 2016 Liza W. Widjaja

 

2016-02-07 22.59.42

FISH JELLY (IKAN AGAR AGAR
© 2016 Liza W. Widjaja)

 

2016-02-07 23.04.26

FISH JELLY (IKAN AGAR AGAR)
© 2016 Liza W. Widjaja

 

2016-02-26 15.50.01

FISH JELLY (IKAN AGAR AGAR)
© 2016 Liza W. Widjaja

 

 

20160226_114857

FISH JELLY (IKAN AGAR AGAR)
© 2016 Liza W. Widjaja

 

2016-03-04 09.01.59

FISJ JELLY (IKAN AGAR AGAR)
© 2016 Liza W. Widjaja

 

 

Leave a Reply

