MARTABAK MANIS (INDONESIAN SWEET STUFFED PANCAKE)

Martabak manis is Indonesian sweet stuffed pancake.

2016-08-31-20-08-32

MARTABAK MANIS (INDONESIAN SWEET STUFFED PANCAKE)
© 2016 Liza W. Widjaja

In Indonesia there are two version of Martabak. A sweet one,and a savoury pan-fried one with eggs and meat, also called Martabak Malabar.

This time I’m talking about Martabak manis or sweet Martabak. The cooking method is different from the savoury one. To make the dough it uses yeast and baking soda. The ingredients included butter, sugar, vanilla, crushed peanuts, chocolate sprinkles, cheese or any other toppings that you like.

In Indonesia, Martabak is one of the most popular street foods. This snack is buttery , soft and fluffy. The inside of the thick pancake with a crispy crust is crunchy peanuts, sweet chocolate or savoury cheese sprinkles with a generous drizzle of condensed milk.

Usually this snack to be shared with family or friends. Martabak also known as Terang Bulan meaning Bright Moon maybe because of the shape, round like the moon. Before serving the Martabak folded in half.

Martabak is one of my favorite snacks from Indonesia. When I start to crave for Martabak I  make it my self and I try to make as close as to the one I usually get in Jakarta. I think it is good enough because I end up making a few more batches. I also made some without peanuts for my son (his allergic to nuts), I tried some and it’s still delicious without peanuts.

 Here are pictures of Martabak manis from my kitchen.

2016-08-31-20-04-40

MARTABAK MANIS (INDONESIAN SWEET STUFFED PANCAKE)
© 2016 Liza W. Widjaja

2016-08-31-19-59-55

MARTABAK MANIS (INDONESIAN SWEET STUFFED PANCAKE)
© 2016 Liza W. Widjaja

2016-08-31-20-06-22

MARTABAK MANIS (INDONESIAN SWEET STUFFED PANCAKE)
© 2016 Liza W. Widjaja

2016-08-31-20-06-58

MARTABAK MANIS (INDONESIAN SWEET STUFFED PANCAKE)
© 2016 Liza W. Widjaja

2016-08-31-20-43-15

MARTABAK MANIS (INDONESIAN SWEET STUFFED PANCAKE)
© 2016 Liza W. Widjaja

2016-08-31-20-08-32

MARTABAK MANIS (INDONESIAN SWEET STUFFED PANCAKE)
© 2016 Liza W. Widjaja

Leave a Reply

